Commit 6550a750 authored by nextime's avatar nextime

Imported new upstream version

parent aa537658
utils-linux
util-linux
MAINTAINER:
......@@ -83,6 +83,7 @@ CONTRIBUTORS:
Alexander Shishkin <virtuoso@slind.org>
Alexander Troosh <trush@yandex.ru>
Alexandre Peixoto Ferreira <alexandref75@gmail.com>
Alexey Galakhov <agalakhov@gmail.com>
Alexey Gladkov <gladkov.alexey@gmail.com>
Alon Bar-Lev <alon.barlev@gmail.com>
Alvaro M. Echevarria
......@@ -113,11 +114,13 @@ CONTRIBUTORS:
Bastian Friedrich <bastian.friedrich@collax.com>
Ben Hutchings <ben@decadent.org.uk>
Benjamin Robin <dev@benjarobin.fr>
Benno Schulenberg <benno@vertaalt.nl>
Benjamin Romer <benjamin.romer@unisys.com>
Benno Schulenberg <bensberg@justemail.net>
Bernardo Innocenti <bernie@codewiz.org>
Bernhard Voelker <mail@bernhard-voelker.de>
Bernhard Walle <bwalle@suse.de>
Bill Pemberton <wfp5p@virginia.edu>
Bill Pemberton <wfp5p@worldbroken.com>
Bill Reynolds <bill@goshawk.lanl.gov>
Bjarni Ingi Gislason <bjarniig@rhi.hi.is>
Björn Jacke <bj@sernet.de>
......@@ -189,6 +192,7 @@ CONTRIBUTORS:
Eryu Guan <guaneryu@gmail.com>
Eugene Yunak <eugene@yunak.eu>
Fabian Groffen <grobian@gentoo.org>
Federico Simoncelli <fsimonce@redhat.com>
Flávio Leitner <fleitner@redhat.com>
Florentin Duneau <fduneau@gmail.com>
Florian Zumbiehl <florz@florz.de>
......@@ -199,10 +203,12 @@ CONTRIBUTORS:
Frank Mayhar <fmayhar@google.com>
Frédéric Bothamy <frederic.bothamy@free.fr>
Frederik "Freso" S. Olesen <freso@freso.dk>
Fridolin Pokorny <fpokorny@redhat.com>
Gabor Kelemen <kelemeng@gnome.hu>
Gabriel Barazer <gabriel@oxeva.fr>
Gabriel Burt <gburt@novell.com>
Gabriel de Perthuis <g2p.code@gmail.com>
Gabriele Giacone <1o5g4r8o@gmail.com>
Gabriel M. Schuyler <schuyler@easiest.com>
Gerhard Schneider <gs@ilfb.tuwien.ac.at>
Gerrit Renker <gerrit@erg.abdn.ac.uk>
......@@ -233,6 +239,7 @@ CONTRIBUTORS:
ihno <ihno@suse.de>
Ilias Mamedov <arknir@yandex.ru>
Imre Kaloz <kaloz@openwrt.org>
Ingo Brückl <ib@wupperonline.de>
Jaakko Hyvätti <HYVATTI@cc.helsinki.fi>
Jakob Unterwurzacher <jakobunt@gmail.com>
Jakub Bogusz <qboosh@pld-linux.org>
......@@ -246,6 +253,7 @@ CONTRIBUTORS:
Jan (yac) Matějka <JMatejka@suse.cz>
Jan "Yenya" Kasprzak <kas@fi.muni.cz>
Jari Aalto <jari.aalto@cante.net>
Jaromir Capik <jcapik@redhat.com>
Jason Borden <jborden@bluehost.com>
Jason Vas Dias <jvdias@redhat.com>
Jeff Mahoney <jeffm@suse.com>
......@@ -265,6 +273,7 @@ CONTRIBUTORS:
Jonathan Liu <net147@gmail.com>
Jon Grant <jg@jguk.org>
Jon Ringle <jon@ringle.org>
Jörg Jenderek <joerg.jen.der.ek@gmx.net>
Joseph Parmelee <jparmele@wildbear.com>
Josep Puigdemont <josep.puigdemont@gmail.com>
Josh Triplett <josh@joshtriplett.org>
......@@ -272,6 +281,7 @@ CONTRIBUTORS:
Juha Laiho <jlaiho@ichaos.nullnet.fi>
Jun Hamano <junio@shadow.twinsun.com>
Justin B Rye <jbr@edlug.org.uk>
J William Piggott <elseifthen@gmx.com>
KaiGai Kohei <kaigai@kaigai.gr.jp>
Kalev Soikonen <ksop@hot.ee>
Kay Sievers <kay.sievers@vrfy.org>
......@@ -330,6 +340,7 @@ CONTRIBUTORS:
Mike Frysinger <vapier@gentoo.org>
Mike Hommey <mh@glandium.org>
Mikel Olasagasti Uranga <hey_neken@mundurat.net>
Mike Place <mp@saltstack.com>
Mikhail Gusarov <dottedmag@dottedmag.net>
Miklos Szeredi <mszeredi@suse.cz>
Milan Bouchet-Valat <nalimilan@club.fr>
......@@ -347,6 +358,7 @@ CONTRIBUTORS:
Nicolai Langfeldt <janl@math.uio.no>
Nicolas Boichat <nicolas@boichat.ch>
Nicolas Provost <nprovost@quadriv.com>
Nikolay Sivov <nsivov@codeweavers.com>
Nilgün Belma Bugüner <nilgun@buguner.name.tr>
Norbert Buchmuller <norbi@nix.hu>
Oliver Falk <oliver@linux-kernel.at>
......@@ -354,17 +366,20 @@ CONTRIBUTORS:
Olivier Mengué <dolmen@cpan.org>
Ondrej Oprala <ooprala@redhat.com>
Pádraig Brady <P@draigBrady.com>
Pali Rohár <pali.rohar@gmail.com>
Pascal Terjan <pterjan@mandriva.com>
Patrice Dumas <pertusus@free.fr>
Patrick Plagwitz <patrick.plagwitz@fau.de>
Paul Eggert <eggert@cs.ucla.edu>
Paul Fox <pgf@laptop.org>
Paulius Zaleckas <paulius.zaleckas@teltonika.lt>
Paul Menzel <paulepanter@users.sourceforge.net>
Pavel Maryanov <acid_jack@ukr.net>
Pavel Maryanov <acid@jack.kiev.ua>
pcpa <paulo.cesar.pereira.de.andrade@gmail.com>
Pedro Ribeiro <p.m42.ribeiro@gmail.com>
peppe <g1pi@libero.it>
Peter Breitenlohner <peb@mppmu.mpg.de>
Peter Cordes <peter@cordes.ca>
Peter De Wachter <pdewacht@gmail.com>
Peter Jones <pjones@redhat.com>
Peter Orbaek <poe@daimi.aau.dk>
......@@ -384,6 +399,7 @@ CONTRIBUTORS:
Rafael Aquini <aquini@redhat.com>
Rafael Ferreira <rafael.f.f1@gmail.com>
Raghavendra D Prabhu <rprabhu@wnohang.net>
Rainer Gerhards <rgerhards@adiscon.com>
Rajeev V. Pillai <rajeevvp@gmail.com>
Ram Pai <linuxram@us.ibm.com>
Randolph Bentson <bentson@grieg.seaslug.org>
......@@ -398,7 +414,6 @@ CONTRIBUTORS:
Rick Sladkey <jrs@world.std.com>
Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com>
Robert Förster <Dessa@gmake.de>
Robert Millan <rmh@aybabtu.com>
Robert Millan <rmh@debian.org>
Robert Schiele <rschiele@gmail.com>
Rodrigo Campos <rodrigo@sdfg.com.ar>
......@@ -419,6 +434,7 @@ CONTRIBUTORS:
Scott Moser <smoser@ubuntu.com>
Scott Telford <st@epcc.ed.ac.uk>
Sebastian Andrzej Siewior <sebastian@breakpoint.cc>
Sebastian Krahmer <krahmer@suse.de>
Sergei Antonov <saproj@gmail.com>
Sergey Gusarov <laborer2008@gmail.com>
Shachar Shemesh <shachar@debian.org>
......@@ -427,6 +443,7 @@ CONTRIBUTORS:
s.p@orbitalfox.com <s.p@orbitalfox.com>
Stanislav Brabec <sbrabec@suse.cz>
Stefan Krah <stefan@bytereef.org>
Stef Walter <stef@thewalter.net>
Stepan Kasal <skasal@redhat.com>
Stephan Maka <stephan@spaceboyz.net>
Stephan Müller <fruktopus@gmail.com>
......@@ -434,6 +451,7 @@ CONTRIBUTORS:
Stephen Hemminger <shemminger@vyatta.com>
Stephen Tweedie <sct@dcs.ed.ac.uk>
Steve Grubb <sgrubb@redhat.com>
Steven Honeyman <stevenhoneyman@users.noreply.github.com>
Steven J. Magnani <steve@digidescorp.com>
Steven S. Dick <ssd@nevets.oau.org>
Steve Philp
......@@ -455,6 +473,7 @@ CONTRIBUTORS:
Timo Warns <Warns@Pre-Sense.DE>
Tim Waugh <twaugh@redhat.com>
Tobias Klauser <tklauser@distanz.ch>
Tobias Stoeckmann <tobias@stoeckmann.org>
Tom Gundersen <teg@jklm.no>
Tomislav Krznar <tomislav.krznar@gmail.com>
Tommi Kyntola <kynde@iki.fi>
......@@ -470,12 +489,14 @@ CONTRIBUTORS:
Vladimir 'φ-coder/phcoder' Serbinenko <phcoder@gmail.com>
Volker Kuhlmann <v.kuhlmann@elec.canterbury.ac.nz>
Volker Schatz <oss@volkerschatz.com>
Waldemar Brodkorb <wbx@openadk.org>
Wanlong Gao <wanlong.gao@gmail.com>
Wei-Lun Chao <bluebat@member.fsf.org>
Werner Almesberger <almesber@bernina.ethz.ch>
Werner Fink <werner@suse.de>
Wieland Hoffmann <themineo@gmail.com>
William Pitcock <nenolod@dereferenced.org>
Will Johansson <will.johansson@gmail.com>
Wolfgang Richter <wolf@cs.cmu.edu>
WUEBBELS, Josef <Josef.WUEBBELS@mtu.de>
Wylmer Wang <wantinghard@gmail.com>
......
See version control history.
http://git.kernel.org/?p=utils/util-linux/util-linux.git;a=log;h=2.25.2
http://git.kernel.org/?p=utils/util-linux/util-linux.git;a=log;h=2.26.2
Note that items with (!) have high priority.
libblkid
--------
- (!) don't use fixed set of the static buffers for TAGs in blkid_probe,
allocate all on the fly. It seems that for example btrfs is crazy enough
to have LABELs longer than we have bufferes in libblkid
https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=1164708
cfdisk
------
- provide additional information about the current partitions (LABEL=, UUID=,
filesystem type, size, usage, mountpoint, ...) just optionally add extra
table between main menu and list of partitions.
- (!) add auto-sort support (sort partitions automatically) and
--sort={auto,never,always} command line option. This feature should be
enabled by default for logical partitions if we created all container (extended
partition) in the current session.
agetty
-----
- support default issue (/etc/issue) output for agetty to make it agetty
usable on systems with empty /etc.
This change is little bit controversial, because now agetty prints nothing
by default and it's probably used by admins to hide information about the
system to unauthorized users. We already have --noissue to disable issue
output. The question is if admins use this option, "rm /etc/issue" is
probably easer than modify inittab (or systemd unit file).
Maybe we can implement it by --enable-agetty-default-issue compile option and
move the decision to downstream maintainers ;-)
nsenter(1)
----------
- read the default UID and GID from the target process.
http://thread.gmane.org/gmane.linux.utilities.util-linux-ng/9553/focus=9585
hwlock
------
- use /var/lib/hwclock/drift to store hw-clock drift numbers.
......@@ -95,9 +133,6 @@ libfdisk
This feature seems very attractive to users who resizing their disks
(for example in virtual machines).
- sfdisk rounds to cylinders is -uM (megabyte units) is specified, this is
pretty stupid feature. It has to round to sectors if -uS or -uM is specified.
- use off_t instead "long long"
- catch SIGINT (Ctrl-C) and return to main menu.
......
......@@ -3,11 +3,28 @@ deprecated utils are in maintenance mode and we keep them in source tree for
backward compatibility only.
what: "swapon --summary" output format
why: does not provide control on output data formatting. The recommended solution
is to use --show=<columns> in all scripts.
what: sfdisk --show-size
why: this does not belong to fdisk, use "blockdev --getsz"
what: "pid" as binary name for "kill --pid"
--------------------------
what: sfdisk --Linux
why: unnecessary option, only Linux (non-DOS mode) is supported
--------------------------
what: sfdisk --unit
why: unnecessary option, only 'S'ector unit is supported
--------------------------
what: "swapon --summary" output format
why: does not provide control on output data formatting. The recommended solution
is to use --show=<columns> in all scripts.
--------------------------
what: "pid" as binary name for "kill --pid"
why: too ugly, too obscure
--------------------------
......
Patches
* send your patches to the mailing list or to the upstream maintainer
(see the AUTHORS and README files)
* diff -u
(see the README file in project root directory).
* don't include generated (autotools) stuff to your patches (hint:
use git clean -Xd)
......@@ -12,17 +10,22 @@ Patches
distribution-neutral. No RPMs/DEBs/... are provided - get yours
from your distributor.
* patches are delivered via email only. Downloading them from
internet servers is a pain.
* patches are delivered via email or git remote repository only.
Downloading them from internet servers is a pain. See
howto-pull-request.txt for remote repository instructions.
* one patch per email, with the changelog in the body of the email.
* mail attachments are difficult. Tip:
git send-email --to util-linux@vger.kernel.org origin/master..yourbranch
* many small patches are favoured over one big. Break down is done on
basis of logical functionality; for example #endif mark ups,
compiler warning and exit codes fixes all should be individual
small patches.
* Subject: [PATCH] subsystem: description
* 'Subject: [PATCH] subsystem: description'. See also 'Patching
process'.
* if someone else wrote the patch, they should be credited (and
blamed) for it. To communicate this, add a line:
......@@ -74,8 +77,8 @@ Before sending a patch
errors.
* test that previously existed program behavior is not
unintentionally alterred. If you alter the behavior tell about in
commit message.
unintentionally alterred. If you alter the behavior tell about
it in commit message.
Coding style
......@@ -86,7 +89,7 @@ Coding style
* Use `FIXME:' and a good description if want to inform others
something is not quite right, and you are unwilling to fix the
issue.
issue in the submitted change.
Patching process
......@@ -107,6 +110,12 @@ Patching process
are needed here and there resubmit particular patches. When
comments cause greater effect resubmit everything again.
* Mark resubmission with [PATCH v2]. Hint:
git format-patch origin/master..yourbranch --subject-prefix='PATCH v2'
* Use of remote repository for resubmission can be good idea.
See also howto-pull-request.txt
* All patch submissions, big or small, are either commented, reject,
or merge. When maintainer rejects a patch (series) it is pointless
to resubmit.
......
......@@ -51,8 +51,10 @@ higher the debugging level. Search for `DEBUG' from files
to see what the different bits mean. At the time of writing this the following
enabled full debug.
export LIBBLKID_DEBUG=0xffff
export LIBMOUNT_DEBUG=0xffff
export LIBBLKID_DEBUG=all
export LIBMOUNT_DEBUG=all
export LIBFDISK_DEBUG=all
export LIBSMARTCOLS_DEBUG=all
The libblkid reads by default /etc/blkid.conf which can be overridden by the
environment variable BLKID_CONF. See manual libblkid/libblkid.3 for details
......
This diff is collapsed.
......@@ -203,7 +203,7 @@ cal:
- mention where Gregorian reformation happen in September 1752 [Sami Kerola]
- remove optional from short arg -w [Tommi Kyntola]
- remove unnecessary static variables [Sami Kerola]
- remove unnused structure and definition [Sami Kerola]
- remove unused structure and definition [Sami Kerola]
- rename ascii_wnum() to ascii_weeknum() [Sami Kerola]
- simplify ascii_weeknum() function [Sami Kerola]
- use control structure for run time configuration [Sami Kerola]
......
Util-linux 2.25.1 Release Notes
===============================
build-sys:
- create parent directory for $(PATHFILES) [Michael Marineau]
- fix double prefix with explict --libdir [Christoph Junghans]
- fix switch_root/pivot_root cut-n-paste error in configure.ac [Andreas Henriksson]
- release++ (v2.25.1-rc1) [Karel Zak]
cfdisk:
- fix typo in the previous commit [Karel Zak]
- reenable cursor when quitting [Karel Zak]
- wrong interpretation of yes in non-english language [Karel Zak]
docs:
- update AUTHORS file [Karel Zak]
- update v2.25.1-ReleaseNotes [Karel Zak]
fdisk:
- always print warning for mis-aligned partitions [Karel Zak]
- fix -l [<device>] [Karel Zak]
- update tests and clean up output [Karel Zak]
hexdump:
- Fix parse format of "byte count without repetition count" [HUANG Wei]
hwclock:
- check for permissions before use clock interface [Karel Zak]