You can not select more than 25 topics Topics must start with a letter or number, can include dashes ('-') and can be up to 35 characters long.
 
 
 
 
 
 
nextime d06021c29e Import master branch 6 years ago
..
FAQ Import master branch 6 years ago
Makefile.am Import master branch 6 years ago
Makefile.in Import master branch 6 years ago
NEWS.pre-4.3 Import master branch 6 years ago
README.Kiosk Import master branch 6 years ago

README.Kiosk

The Xfce session manager supports the KIOSK mode introduced with libxfce4util
4.1.13. It provides the following KIOSK capabilities:

CustomizeSplash whether or not the user is allowed to customize
the splash screen.

CustomizeChooser whether or not the user is allowed to customize
the session chooser settings

CustomizeLogout whether or not the user is allowed to customize
the logout settings

CustomizeCompatibility whether or not the user is allowed to customize
the compatibility settings (KDE/Gnome compat)

CustomizeSecurity whether or not the user is allowed to customize
the security settings. This is one of the most
IMPORTANT settings, since it prevents users
(actually libICE) from binding to a TCP port.

Shutdown whether or not the user is allowed to shutdown
(reboot or poweroff) the system. If a user lacks
this capability the reboot and poweroff options
in the shutdown dialog will be greyed out.

SaveSession whether or not the user is allowed to save
the session on logout. If a user lacks this
capability the "Save session for future logins"
checkbox in the shutdown dialog will be
greyed out.

So a sample xfce4-session section in your kioskrc might look like this:

--- snip ---
[xfce4-session]
CustomizeSplash=ALL
CustomizeChooser=ALL
CustomizeLogout=ALL
CustomizeCompatibility=%wheel
CustomizeSecurity=NONE
Shutdown=%wheel
SaveSession=%admin
--- snip ---

This allows all users to change their splash, chooser and logout settings, but
allows only users in the group wheel to customize the compatibility settings
and shutdown the system, and only users in the group admin to save the
session on logout. No one will be allowed to adjust the security settings.